Draft for new website

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tommy

Web Administrator
Staff member
Best answers
Dear Croosaders,

I receive a lot of suggestions for the website but it feels like we're going forth and back with these. First I get asked to shrink the website to a minimum and have all important information displayed on every page without the need to scroll, then I get asked to add more content again. The problem with the current layout is that there is no space for more content. Unfortunately I'm not a web designer but a web developer, mainly doing backend development. Nonetheless I try to keep myself up to date when it comes to latest webdesign trends and in my opinion the MapleStory community is too focused on fancy looking layouts which break all rules of modern webdesign. When players compare us to other servers they often forget that we are different because we host two versions.

What I get asked for very often is a portal page which was used years ago by many gaming platforms but is a no go when it comes to search engine optimization these days. People often mix it up with so called landing pages. These serve another purpose and are good for the search engine rank. A portal page seems to make sense because we host two versions but I always declined this suggestion and promised to come up with something else instead.

My idea is to have the content for both versions on a single website (no more version selection at the top) and then allow the visitor to switch between the versions for specific content. This could for example allow to display the server information of the progressive server but at the same time display the announcements of the pre big bang server.

Upon the first visit a visitor would be asked to select the preferred version. This would be the default selection on all pages and can then be changed by the visitor wherever desired. User preferrences would be stored in cookies and thus be applied on the next visit again.