Research Recruitment—Compensation Possible

Slumber

Best answers
Research Recruitment—Compensation Possible

A flyer will act as the Too Long Didn’t Read Version of this post:
pardon the pixelation. I'm a social scientist not an artist.
1586458487306.png
Recruitment survey link: https://umn.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bgcRE8YZckdiBgN
Contact via Discord: NBG_Slumber#2062

Hi, fellow Croosaders.

Some of you might know that outside the game I am a media scholar and digital ethnographer of internet and gaming cultures. Currently, I am a PhD Candidate at the University of Minnesota finishing their dissertation on influencer cultures within the Pokemon franchise. My research on influencers, microcelebrities, and content creators, particularly within the Pokémon franchise, has been supported by MIT, University of Minnesota, Harvard University, and the University of Turku (Finland). I was a predoctoral fellow at MIT and a fellow at Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University for 2018-2019 academic year. I am currently a research affiliate at MIT and an affiliate at Harvard University for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Briefing on the research:
You are invited to be in a research study of MapleStory private servers and their effects on community formation and economies related to the game. Since its release in 2003 in South Korea, MapleStory has spread across the globe and has had a lasting impact. Many of us no longer play MapleStory distributed by Nexon, Inc., but still play on private servers. This research starts by asking: what is the emotional and communal connection to playing and re-living a game that is nearly two decades old?
The data via grounded theory will illuminate the rest.

Recruitment Stage (we are here):
If you are interested in being part of this research, please fill out this survey: https://umn.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bgcRE8YZckdiBgN

The survey is relatively simple and will take no longer than 5-7 minutes.